Depending on the purpose of your travel to Georgia, there are different categories of visas that will apply to the occasion. Whether you are planning to go on a visit, study or work and reside there permanently, you will have to apply for a different Georgian Visa, accordingly.The fastest and easiest way to check whether you need a visa to enter and/or stay in Georgia, or transit the territory of Georgia is to click on “DO I NEED VISA” button and process step by step with simple online application.


A citizen of a foreign country who seeks to enter Georgia generally must first obtain a Georgian visa, which is placed in the traveler’s passport (a visa blank) or is issued electronically (electronic visa). Certain international travelers may be eligible to travel to Georgia without a visa if they meet the requirements for visa-free travel.The visa policy of Georgia became comparatively liberal, allowing citizens of 98 countries(table1) to enter, reside, work and study in Georgia without the necessity to obtain either visa or residence permit.  In addition, Georgian Government approved the list of 50 countries(see other exemption) whose visa and/or residence permit holders may enter Georgia without a visa for an appropriate period and under appropriate conditions.

Table 1: List of Countries whose Citizens may Enter Georgia

without Visa for 1 (One) Full Year (Unless Otherwise Noted)

EU States Botswana Holy See Moldova Seychelles
Albania Brazil Honduras Monaco Singapore
Andorra British Dependent Territories (1) Iceland Montenegro South Africa
Antigua and Barbuda British Overseas Territories(2) Iran (45 days) Netherlands Territories(5) South Korea
Argentina Brunei Israel New Zealand Switzerland
Armenia Canada Japan Norway Tajikistan
Australia Chile (90/180 days) Kazakhstan Oman Thailand
Azerbaijan Colombia Kuwait Panama Turkey
Bahamas Costa Rica Kyrgyzstan Qatar Turkmenistan
Bahrain Denmark Territories (3) Lebanon Russia Ukraine
Barbados Dominican Republic Liechtenstein Saint Vincent and Grenadines United Arab Emirates
Belarus Ecuador Malaysia San Marino United States of America
Belize El Salvador Mauritius Saudi Arabia Uruguay (90days)
Bosnia and Herzegovina French Republic Territories(4) Mexico Serbia Uzbekistan

Other Conditions for exemption from Georgian Visa:

  • International travelers who are holders of valid visas or/and residence permits determined by the Ordinance № 256of the Government of Georgia, may enter and stay in Georgia for 90 days in any 180 day period.
  • Foreign nationals who are holders of the UNO’s or its specialized agencies travel documents (Laissez-Passer), can enter or stay on the territory of Georgia without a visa for full 1 year.
  • Holders of diplomatic or official/service passportsof *China, *Egypt, *GuyanaIndia, *Shri lanka, *Indonesia and *Peru may enter and stay in Georgia without visa.
  • Compatriots residing abroad, who are citizens of the country whose citizens need a visa for entering Georgia, are authorized to cross the state border of Georgia without a visa and stay in Georgia for no more than 30 days;
  • Aliens holding a Georgian residence permit or a temporary residence permit of a refugee or a person with humanitarian status for the entire period of the above mentioned documents validity.
  • Members of a crew of an international airline, railway, or marine transport and passengers that need an interim change of carrier or means of transport and have a document evidencing the right to enter their country of destination do not require a visa for transit movement in Georgia. Period of stay in Georgia should not exceed 10 (ten) days. Passengers are not allowed to leave an area signated specifically for transit at an airport, a railway station or a seaport.
E-VISA PORTAL – the easiest way to get permit of entry into and travel within the territory of Georgia for the purpose of short stay. Prospective travelers have a possibility to obtain the short-term visa without visiting Georgian Embassy or Consular Office. A visa application shall be submitted through the e-VISA PORTAL only by an alien staying abroad if the issuance of a C category short-term electronic visa by the Ministry is required. In the course of filling in a visa application through the e-VISA PORTAL, a message will be sent to the e-mail address indicated in the visa application to subsequently confirm the e-mail address and to ensure payment of the state duty. The e-mail address shall be confirmed within 1 (one) hour after it is sent, otherwise the visa application will be cancelled. The state duty shall be paid within 5 (five) hours after the message received on the e-mail address is confirmed.












Before applying, visa applicants must first decide which kind of visa (and status of residence) to apply for according to the purpose of their visit to Georgia. The category of visa you must obtain is defined by Georgian immigration law, and relates to the purpose of your travel. A Georgian visa shall be divided into the following categories:

  1. Diplomatic (A)
  2. Special (B)
  3. Ordinary (C)
  4. Immigration (D)
  5. Transit (T)

There are short-term and long-term visas with the right of a single entry or multiple entries. A short-term visa can be issued with the right of a single entry or multiple entries into Georgia, and a long-term visa can only be issued with the right of multiple entries. A short-term single-entry visa can be issued according to the number of days indicated by an alien in a visa application but for not more than 30 calendar days. A short-term multiple-entry visa can be issued for a maximum of five years. Besides, the total period of an alien’s entry and stay in Georgia in any 180-day period shall not exceed 90 calendar days.

A short-term multiple-entry visa can be issued to aliens, who, under the procedures established by the legislation of Georgia, have visited Georgia at least once during the previous year, and there are grounds for requesting a short-term multiple-entry visa. The condition to visit Georgia during the previous year is not required for the issuance of diplomatic and special visas, and of a short-term multiple-entry electronic visa on the basis of a visa application submitted through the e-VISA PORTAL.


An alien who is not exempted from Georgian visa  and seeks to enter Georgia must first obtain an appropriate category visa. To obtain a Georgian visa an alien may submit the documentation as through E-Application System as via e-Visa Portal depending on the purpose of the travel. The documentation required for application differs depending on which category of visa (and status of residence) the applicant wishes.


E-APPLICATION SYSTEM – through this system aliens are eligible to apply for any category of visa. The system allows to submit e-application for booking time for submission of visa application at the appropriate consular office. Unlike the e-VISA PORTAL, after the visa application is submitted through E-Application System, hard copies of the signed visa application  and all other documents necessary to issue a visa shall be submitted to the visa issuing authority by submitting them directly to the visa issuing authority or another body authorised to accept documents; and in the case of diplomatic and special visas – by directly submitting them to the visa issuing authority, or by post.